ReviewLaza » Uncategorized » Announcement: Nobel Prize Ceremony

Announcement: Nobel Prize Ceremony

Raina Rahul Agarwal 9 Oct, 2021 Uncategorized No Comments

Know About Nobel Prize

What is the Nobel prize?

Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize is a prestigious prize. It is awarded separately in six different fields. The Nobel prize is established by Alfred Nobel on 27 November 1895. It is awarded for the encouragement to those people who have worked for the great benefit to humankind during the preceding year.

Originally the Nobel prize is awarded in the field of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace. The peace prize was characterized as “to the person who has done the best to advance fellowship among nations, the reduction of standing armies, and the establishment and promotion of peace congress. Later in 1968 Sveriges Riksbank  (Sweden Central Bank) established the prize in economic sciences in memory of Sir Alfred Nobel and was awarded in 1969.

The first distribution of the Nobel prize was given on 10 December 1901 on the 5th anniversary of the Nobel’s death.

Nobel Prize Award Money

  • The first Nobel prize money amount was awarded at a ceremony in Stockholm, Sweden. Over the past decades, as the list of Nobel Laureates has grown, the Nobel award prize money has increased from under $20,000 to over $1.1 million this year. Prize money may not be shared among three individuals although the Nobel peace prize can be awarded to the organizations of more than three people.
  • The prize has been awarded 603 times, including the Prize in Economic Sciences till February 2021. A total of 962 individuals and 28 organizations have received the award. Some have received the award more than once, which makes it 930 individuals and 25 organizations.

Some famous personalities won the Nobel prize in their respective fields:

Marie Curie- The Polish-French Physicist, was the first person to win the Nobel prize in 1903-1911 for her work in the advancement in physics and chemistry.

Malala Yousefzai-The youngest person at age of 17 years in 2014 receive a Nobel prize. She shared the peace prize with Kailash Satyarthi for their struggle against the separation of children and young people and the right of children to education.

Albert Einstein- In 1921 won Nobel Prize for physics.

Martin Luther King Jr.– In 1964 won the Nobel peace prize.

Nelson Mandela- In 1993 won the Nobel peace prize.

Barack Obama- Former US President Barack Obama won the Nobel prize in 2009 for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.

What does the winner receive?

  • A Nobel diploma, each of which is a unique artwork.
  • An 18 k gold medal has some different designs.
  • A cash prize of $ 1.1 million is split between the winner when there is more than one.

Winners By Continent

  • While the Nobel prize is a global award, just more than half of the prize winners are from Europe.
  • The United States has the highest number of Nobel laureates, at 281, as of 2020.
  • After Europe and North America, Asia has the third-highest number of Nobel laureates at 7, followed by Africa (27), Oceania (15), and South America(11).

Nobel Prize 2021 ceremony

  • The 2021 Nobel peace prize was announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo on 8 October 2021. The Nobel peace prize is awarded in a solemn ceremony in the Oslo City Hall on Friday 10 December 2021.
  • On 8 October 2021 Nobel Prize Committee announced its decision to award the prize to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.

Winners Of 2021

Medicine: David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian

Physics: Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi.

Chemistry: Benjamin List and David MacMillan

Literature: Abdulrazak Gurnah

Peace: Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov


author avatar
Raina Rahul Agarwal
My name is Raina Agarwal, and I am a seasoned content writer with three years of experience in the field. Holding a master's degree in microbiology. I have also garnered valuable experience as a microbiologist, with a career spanning over a decade since 2011. My diverse professional background enables me to offer unique insights and perspectives in my content creation endeavours.

Raina Rahul Agarwal

A Non-Medical Scientist, BSL-2 Lab, Mirzapur

Leave a Comment

  • Name
    URL: (Optional)